What is a revision?

Every time you make a change to a test and save it, we automatically store the version of the test before the change. Each of these versions of the test is called revision.
This gives you the power to always look back at your changes and revert back to an older revision.

How do I create a revision?

Revisions are created automatically. You don't have to do anything.
Let's see an example: I have a "User Login" test, and I just updated the step that sets the password. When I'll click "Save", I'll see the following dialog, prompting to enter the purpose of the change I just did:

Click OK, and that's it! a new revision was created, and we can now always open the revision of the test before the change.
Notice the change message is optional, but it will later give you a clear information in case you'll need to look back at the changes you've made to the test.

See all revisions

In order to see all the revisions of the test, simply open the Test Properties panel on the right, and click "See old revisions" at the bottom:

Now you can see the list of revisions, containing the change message (which we explained above), the name of the user who made the change, and date in which it was made:

View an old revision

To view a revision, simply hover the revision you want to view, and click View:

Important: Note that the changes are local only. You will need to save the test in order to revert completely.

Working with shared step

Shared step (like group step, or one of the custom Javascript steps) might be changed in a different test.

When you use a shared step that was changed in another test, you will also see it in the revisions list, so you'll be aware of that change.

In this example we changed the Logout group step from a different test:

Note: If you're in a custom JavaScript step and want to revert to an old version, you'll need to step out and re-enter the step to view a previous version.

Reverting changes with a shared step

If you choose to open an older revision of the test, it will also open the older revision of the shared steps that were being used in that revision.

In other words: If a shared step was changed while saving previous revision, all of the instances of the folder will be affected too.

Did this answer your question?